Archive for August, 2014

Senior Team Selection for 30th August

First XI v Bomere Heath (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet:  10.50am  Start: 12.00pm
Captain: Ben Byram
2. Tylor Trenoweth
3. Jamie Griffiths
4. Lee Griffiths
5. Mo Zaheer
6. Paul Smart
7. Mike Myatt
8. Tom Griffiths
9. Mitchell Hoof
10. Chris Waldron
11.  Gareth Hughes

Second XI v Alberbury (Away)
Day: Saturday Meet: 10.10am Start: 12.00pm
Captain. Matt Conniffe
2. Jack Heath
3. Awais Arif
4. Avi Mathur
5. Sam Morgan
6. Mo Arif
7. Jason Trickett
8. Frazer Watson
9. Cameron Watson
10. Chris Cousins
11. Anthony Hyde

Third XI v Church Stretton (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet: 12.15pm  Start: 1.00pm
Captain: Allan Myatt
2. Kev Myatt
3. Corey Davies
4. Bobby Gill
5. Haider Raza
6. Mo Awais
7. Mike Parham
8. Ben Mackeen
9. Hayley MaCafferty
10. Dave Seaton
11. Libby Taylor

Fourth XI v Quatt (Away)
Day: Saturday Meet: 11.45pm Start: 1.00pm
Captain: Dom Musgrove
2. Felix Price
3. Pete Hoof
4. Abahjeet Gill
5. Paul Rushworth
6. Mike Tolley
7. Ash Kumar
8. Sajan Goraya
9. Dave Smith
10. Cheryl Williams
11. Sean Greening

Sun shines on 11th Brennan competition

Participants at the 2014 Brennan 6-a-side competition

Participants at the 2014 Brennan 6-a-side competition

The 2014 Brennan 6-a-side competition was held on Sunday 24th August. Australian Mike Brennan played for St.Georges from 2002-2004 and was instrumental in inaugurating this fun competition. This was the 11th time it has been held. Appropriately this would have been Mike’s birthday. Sadly he died in 2011 from a brain tumour. The competition was then named in his memory.
The weather exceeded expectations and 12 teams competed in two separate competitions. In the first the “Bobby Dazzlers” were victorious and in the second, the “Spindarellas” narrowly won after a playoff against the “Under 111s”. The competition raised £1440 altogether, which will be used in September to prepare the ground for the 2015 season. Thanks to all those who took part and supported the event and a special thanks to all those who worked so hard on the day in organising, manning the bouncy castle and barbecue, selling raffle tickets, scoring and umpiring. Particular mention should be made of Dave Cadman, who as always put a lot of work into planning and organising the event. A special thanks also goes to Wrekin Housing Trust for their kind donation of £250. Raffle winners will be announced shortly.

Junior Dragons smile for the camera

Junior Dragons 2014

Here are some of our “Junior Dragons” group (years 2 & 3) at the last session of the season this week. This group is coached by Malcolm Webster, assisted by Sam Rowley, Tony Preece and Simon Phillips

BBQ Volunteer needed this Sunday

Due to unforeseen circumstances we need someone to man (or woman) the barbecue at this Sunday’s Brennan 6-a-side competition. Payment will be made in liquid assets. If you can help please contact us through this site or call Dave Cadman on 07816 510011

Senior Team Selection for 16th/17th August

First XI v Albrighton (Away)
Day: Saturday Meet:  10.40am  Start: 12.00pm
Captain: Ben Byram
2. Tylor Trenoweth
3. Jamie Griffiths
4. Lee Griffiths
5. Mo Zaheer
6. Chris Miller
7. Mike Myatt
8. Neil Davies
9. Matt Chesters
10. Tom Griffiths
11.  Gareth Hughes

Second XI v Lilleshall (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet: 11.00am Start: 12.00pm
Captain. Matt Conniffe
2. Joe Buttery
3. Awais Arif
4. Avi Mathur
5. Sam Morgan
6. Paul Smart
7. Luke James
8. Jason Trickett
9. Mo Arif
10. Ben Mackeen
11. Chris Cousins

Third XI v Wheaton Aston (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet: 12.15pm  Start: 1.00pm
Captain: Allan Myatt
2. Rachel Chesters
3. Dave Chesters
4. Corey Davies
5. Bobby Gill
6. Kev Myatt
7. Mike Parham
8. Haider Raza
9. Anthony Hyde
10. Mo Awais
11. Steve Pessall

Fourth XI v Pontesbury (Away)
Day: Sunday Meet: 11.45am Start: 1.00pm
Captain: Dom Musgrove
2. Paul Rushworth
3. Wayne Peel
4. Kyle Jones
5. Pete Hoof
6. Dave Smith
7. Sean Greening
8. Kareem Zaman
9. Ryan Ball
10. Sukh Raj
11. Mark Tolley

Space for more teams in six-a-side tournament

The annual Brennan 6-a-side tournament takes place on Sunday 24th August. There is still room for more teams. The competition is for fun.  If you wouold like to enter a team please contact Dave Cadman on 07816 510011

Top ton from Mo in run chase

Visitors Frankton set up a challenging target of 251 for the 1st XI to chase. Top scorer for Frankton was captain Jordan Parry who made 86 batting at 7. The highest opening partnership of the season by Gareth Hughes(55) and Mo Zaheer(104*), 138, kept the Dragons up with the run rate, but then the light worsened and rain threatened, and we needed to accelerate to avoid  missing a winning opportunity yet again due to the weather.  Chris Waldron(34) and Tylor Trewenoth(42*) duly obliged with quickfire knocks. Mo kept on going to reach a superb century as St.Georges won with 5 overs to spare. Elsewhere the 2nd XI were beaten by 82 runs at Frankton. The third XI won by 3 wickets at Calverhall, whilst Wroxeter beat our 4th XI by 8 wickets.

Senior Team Selection for 9th August

First XI v Frankton (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet:  11.45am  Start: 1.00pm
Captain: Ben Byram
2. Tylor Trenoweth
3. Jamie Griffiths
4. Lee Griffiths
5. Mo Zaheer
6. Chris Miller
7. Mike Ross
8. Neil Davies
9. Chris Waldron
10.  Mitchell Hoof
11.  Gareth Hughes

Second XI v Frankton (Away)
Day: Saturday Meet: 10.45am Start: 1.00pm
Captain. Matt Conniffe
2. Mike Myatt
3. Matt Chesters
4. Ben Mackeen
5. Dave Pope
6. Tom Griffiths
7. Sammy Chesters
8. Avi Mathur
9. Sam Morgan
10. Paul Smart
11. Jack Heath

Third XI v Calverhall (Away)
Day: Saturday Meet: 12.00pm  Start: 1.30pm
Captain: Allan Myatt
2. Rachel Chesters
3. Dave Chesters
4. Mo Arif
5. Corey Davies
6. Jason Trickett
7. Bobby Gill
8. Kev Myatt
9. Awais Arif
10. Anthony Hyde
11. Haider Raza

Fourth XI v Wroxeter-Grove (Home)
Day: Saturday Meet: 12.45pm Start: 1.30pm
Captain: Dom Musgrove
2. Abahjeet Gill
3. Wayne Peel
4. Sajan Goraya
5. Kyle Jones
6. Pete Hoof
7. Libby Taylor
8. Steve Pessall
9. Paul Rushworth
10. Stuart Edwards
11. Jo Couch

Hits & Missus

Hitshu Bachani recently celebrated his wedding to Shraddha. Check out the video here

Marquee Powered By Know How Media.